SAIL stand out at Jamshedpur


SAIL Ranchi : Srimanth Mallick and Sampad Mishra

View Image


Bokaro Steel : S.W.Kispotta and Anand Raj

View Image

A lovely Sunday in the steel city of Jamshedpur, turned into a pitched battle of all the steel giants from the region.

Quizmaster Pickbrain was at his witty best as he quipped I feel I am at an All India Steel Conference as he went about in clinical fashion with a crisp prelim. The six teams that made it were:


  • Rourkela Steel : Debajit Rabha and Ravi Banjare
  • Tata Steel : Salil Gupte and Girish Sharma
  • Bokaro Steel : Debabrata Chowdhury and Rajiv Gautam
  • SAIL Ranchi : Srimanth Mallick and Sampad Mishra
  • Tata Steel : Mohit Bhatt and E.G.Khan
  • Bokaro Steel : S.W.Kispotta and Anand Raj

The finale interestingly had four former champions of various city rounds of the past. This was because, from this year, the Ranchi edition has merged with Jamshedpur bringing together Ranchi, Patna, Rourkela, Bokaro and Jamshedpur under one city final.

The quality and intensity of the final was very different. The quiz moved at a brisk pace with the seasoned campaigners from Tata Steel, Mohit and Khan, pressing forward early on.

The team from Bokaro Steel with Kispotta and Anand Raj were good on the analytical questions and gained ground quickly.

The team from SAIL was in the negative but bounced back with good strikes and kept the momentum to join the teams that were leading. With one round to go three teams were locked in a tight battle.

Tata Steel lost some ground on negatives while the SAIL duo took their chances and won an amazing final. Kispotta and Anand Raj piped the Tata Steel team to emerge runner up.

The guest of honour Mr.Sudhanshu Pathak, Vice President, Steel Manufacturing, Tata Steel appreciated the teams on a fabulous final. He also spoke of how the event had been created to help corporates think out of the box and to also think on their feet.

  • WINNER: SAIL Ranchi : Srimanth Mallick and Sampad Mishra
  • RUNNER UP: Bokaro Steel : S.W.Kispotta and Anand Raj