Kolkata – KIIT and IIM-S win Eastern Zonals

WINNER : KIIT Bhubaneswar

Omkar Amruthanshu and Sagar Saurabh

View Image

RUNNER UP : IIM Shillong

Debarun Majumdar and Rahul Gupta

View Image

The first zonal finals of the 2014 edition of Tata Crucible saw the eight champion teams from across the eastern region of India converge into Kolkata for an amazing afternoon of quizzing.


  • Gitam Institute Vizag: Premchand and Vamsi Krishna
  • KIIT Bhubaneswar: Omkar Amruthanshu and Sagar Saurabh
  • IIM Raipur: Smruthi Prakash and Dushyant Panda
  • XLRI Jamshedpur: Pritwish Datta and Abhishek Padhya
  • IIT BHU: Aditya and Ashwin
  • NIT Rourkela: Nishanth Nihar and Wasim Sajjad
  • IIM Shillong: Debarun Majumdar and Rahul Gupta
  • IIFT: Rahul Sharma and Kunal Malhotra

The battle was dominated by a young team from KKIT Bhubaneswar who seemed to have no fear in their minds as they went about cracking poser after poser with brave hits on the buzzer.

As the top team to go into the national finale looked pretty clear from the beginning, it was a battle for the second spot and that sure was a tight battle, more of nerves, as XLRI, NIT Rourkela, and IIM Shillong jostled with each other till IIM Shillong came out victorious on the last question of the quiz to join KIIT in the national finale.

The prizes were distributed by Mr.Viresh Oberoi, MD and CEO, mjunction. He also advised the youngsters to make brave choices that will help make a difference and impact the nation in a positive way.