Corporate Quiz Results - Jamshedpur

Tata Steel win Jamshedpur tie
Jamshedpur, Sep 26, 2008: It was the final destination of the epic 17 city journey of Tata Crucible 2008. But as they say the best was perhaps preserved for the last. This quiz will be long remembered for the deconstruction of a great champion.

Team Tata Steel (Deepak Kamath and Siddharth Mishra) are no new faces to quizzing in this region, but they created history of sorts overcoming team TCS that had Bishwabijoy (national winner 2003) and Sabyasachi Chandra the unconquered man in the Crucible legacy who had flown in for the quiz all the way from Glasgow. Sabyasachi has won the national finals four consecutive times (2004 to 2007) to be aptly called the ‘Roger Federer of Crucible’ by quizmaster Pickbrain when he won the title last year.

The quiz was a nervous one and it really required a gutsy performance from Deepak and Siddharth Mishra who finally won the title on the last question of the day. The Tata Steel team were sure happy to have made it past such a great team and in true topical style commented, in many ways 2008 has not belonged to the Roger Federers’ drawing inference to the Wimbledon defeat.

While quizmaster Pickbrain applauded the quizzing spirit of team TCS and their passion for Crucible to fly all the way, team TCS on their part displayed great maturity and were truly gracious in defeat but left after throwing a caution note “We will be back next year”.

For the moment, its kudos to Tata Steel, as the stage shifts to the national final of Tata Crucible 2008 with one thing certain, both the Tata Track and the non Tata Track of the quiz will witness a new national champion.