Kolkata – XLRI and IITBHU win East Zonal

WINNER : XLRI Jamshedpur

Chinmay Kamat and Sourabh Chowdhury

View Image


Shobit Shubhankar and Deepak Kumar Singh

View Image

The zonal finale of East India was a tense battle even before it began with a couple of new Tata Crucible cities in the fray and with some former champions of the quiz from their respective regions battling for the title.

The zonal finalists in were:

  • IIT Guwahati: Tushar Krishnan and Kapinjal Sharma
  • Gitam Univ Vizag: Prem Chand and Rajgopal
  • XLRI Jamshedpur: Chinmay Kamat and Sourabh Chowdhury
  • IITBHU Varanasi: Shobit Shubhankar and Deepak Kumar Singh
  • XIMB: Anupam and Manjit
  • Hidayathullah Law Univ Raipur: Pranjal Kishore and Siddharth Madhavan
  • Presidency University: Siddhanth Agarwal and Ms.Shritama Bose

The final was a very fast paced battle that did not give too many a chance to settle as much as they were unsettled by the speed of responses of their opponents. The only team that seemed calm and collective and came out early on the lead the final was XLRI which went on the win the final with a comfortable margin.

All the other teams were in a thick battle that seemed more like a huddle as that they were trying to break free from. In the many rounds that followed the tension prevailed and in the end it was by a whisker of a mere 5 points that IIT-BHU from Varanasi made it to the national finals.

The guest of honour Mr.Dibyendu Bose the MD of TM International Logistics congratulated the teams for the superb display of knowledge and gave away of prizes.