Campus Quiz Results - IIM-C are the Champions

The National and International finals of Tata Crucible Campus 2009 turned out to be fascinating thrillers with IIM-Calcutta winning both the India and International finals.

The afternoon began with a series of semi finals for the 16 teams that made it from the various regional rounds as champions.

The eight teams that made it to the India final were:

  • MICA, Ahmedabad – Aditi N & Gaurav B
  • IIM-C, Kolkata – Shobhit Bhatnagar & C Ram Shankar
  • IIM-Indore – Debasish Mishra & Sai Ganesh
  • IIT-Bombay – Prashanth Sampath & Vaibhav Devanathan
  • Christ University, Bangalore – Sankarshan Baliga & Kuldeep D
  • NIT Suratkal – Varun Balan Nair & Sharan Basavaraj
  • CEG Chennai – Kalai Selvam & S Srivatsan
  • IMT Ghaziabad – Abhishek Kumar & Ashish Lath

The quiz was close and went into the final few questions before IIM-C gave some brilliant answers to take an unbeatable lead. A tie breaker between CEG and MICA ensured the latter made it to the international final as the second team along with champions IIM-C. IIM Indore came close but lost on the buzzer with a couple of negatives. It was a proud moment for team IIM-C as they received their prize of Rs.4 lakhs and the coveted trophy as national champions from Mr.Russi.M.Lala.

IIM-C wins International Final
The international final started in grand style with a packed audience waiting to see the teams from Singapore and London battle against India. Some of the best known names from the world of educational institutions were on stage. It truly was a proud moment for every Indian in that venue as it happened to be the first quiz from India to become the world’s first trans-national business quiz for campuses.

The six international finalists were:

  • London Business School – Michal Bohanes / Saumil Sah
  • MICA – Ahmedabad – Aditi N / Gaurav B
  • Singapore Management Univrsity – Anirban Datta / Bhavya Khanna
  • Oxford University – Rousseau Dasgupta / Timothy Kovoor
  • Singapore Institute of Management – Darnish Singh Kalra / Rachit Singh
  • IIM-C – Kolkata – Shobhit Bhatnagar / C Ram Shankar

The quiz began with Oxford University taking an early lead followed by some very good answers from SMU Singapore and London Business School. As the rounds progressed MICA and IIM-C started scoring on the buzzer with Singapore Institute of Management cracking a couple as well.

The battle became really fast as the buzzers were in play. LBS took a few risks that did not pay off while SMU inched forward with a few good cracks. IIM-C and MICA were also in the huddle as teams crossed over from one round to another. In the a round based on lateral thinking, IIM-C really dominated and got closer to MICA which was now leading though by a fraction.

The final round witnessed some very good answers from all teams and with one question left IIM-C took the onus and worked out a not so simple question on Carbon Credit to emerge International champions for Campus 2009.

The champions received their prizes (laptops and an international holiday) and the beautiful International championship trophy from Mr.R.Gopalakrishnan Executive Director, Tata Sons, the guest of honour.